top of page
Parallel Lines

An Epic Blog

An Epic Blog




About the Blog:

Terrible Minds is a blog that I've been lightly following as of recent. It's primary focus is on writing, as the blogger Chuck Wendig is an award winning author who's even written Star Wars and Marvel comics. A post of his I enjoyed reading discuses the MidJourney A.I, the link of which is here: ~https://terribleminds.com/ramble/2022/07/29/adventures-through-midjourney/

Thoughts:

The use of comedy over potential concerns as well as Chuck displaying his own creations entertained my thoroughly whilst reading. I think while the certain sections may cater to people interested in writing, the many others discussing the MidJourney AI could be enjoyed by readers of any sort. Viewing Chuck's own creations from his use of the robot, was very interesting because of how impressive and detailed they are. Its surprising to see them, knowing that that they weren't even made by an artist.

I learned more about the short-comings and its white-centric nature. When race or colour is not specified, the program defaults to depicting an individual that is white. The post also accentuated and really demonstrated the robot's horror art capabilities. It also seems that the program has improved drastically in recent months, in its ability to create from simple prompts, and in depicting realistic humans.

I agree with Mr. Wendig's belief that it will not replace artists, as it's just too hard to be specific or get exactly what you want. However, the program is great for putting ideas with no specific associated image or look to them. Specific examples I've seen are "The Glory of God," "A Mythical Beast above the clouds," or even some of Wendig's works. I think it's very realistic that it could become a tool for generating prompts, visualizing concepts, and aiding in descripting in literature. The last also being something mentioned in the article.


My Response:





bottom of page